Beach Bumming and Book Blessings

This week’s blog post comes a couple days late, but I had some adventures over the past few days and wanted to share them with you. I don’t get out of the house much, so when I do, I always want to share the experience.

First, however, I’d just like to thank everyone who participated in the Who Said That? event I had running on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter last week. It was a lot of fun and there were some interesting guesses. The winners of the event have been notified and I’ll be mailing out their signed copies of The Heaven Corporation within the next couple of days. It always makes me happy to see my books being discovered by someone new.

Outside of the computer screen, I was able to visit the beach this weekend with some friends. It was a little bittersweet, since it was the last beach trip before one of our friends moves to Hawaii to start her new life with her husband. The weather didn’t cooperate, either, but we still had fun and got some time in the water. We bailed on the beach when the rain hit and had lunch at Swiss Chalet. The weather putting a damper on things might have upset me more had I not just been grateful to go in the first place. I came down with a nasty strain of cold at the beginning of the week. It felt worse than just a cold, believe me. Even small movements left me dizzy and struggling to catch my breath, but I worked very hard at taking care of myself and ended up being well enough to join my friends. I’d been looking forward to it for a long time so I would have been gutted had I not been well enough to go.

It’s also hard to be disappointed when you get surprised with a huge book haul that you didn’t pay a dime for! The friend that’s moving to Hawaii had a huge garbage bag full of books in her trunk and needed to get rid of them before she leaves. I grabbed the entire bag without even looking at what was inside. I heard the word “books” and decided they were mine. I ended up getting a big surprise when I took a look at them later. There are a lot of great titles I’d been wanting to read, like Paper Towns by John Green, The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne, and I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai. Not only do I have months’ worth of reading material now, but I also have fresh bookstagram material!

IMG_20170724_170514_623

Oh, and I saw Spiderman Homecoming in 3D yesterday afternoon, but I expect I’ll be writing a proper review on that next week, so I’ll reserve my detailed thoughts. In short, it was good, but it was no Wonder Woman.

Did you do anything out of the ordinary this week or last? Tell me about it in the comments. You can also chat with me wherever I’m hanging out online. My social media links are at the top and bottom of my website. I’m a chatty person. So chatty that it clashes with writing sometimes, so definitely say hello sometime.

2 thoughts on “Beach Bumming and Book Blessings

Leave a Reply

